Hawking now Director of Research at Cambridge… Steps down as Lucasian Professor of Mathematics at Cambridge University

A transcription of physicist Stephen Hawking’s audio message to Newsnight in which he explains why he is standing down from the prestigious academic title of Lucasian Professor of Mathematics at Cambridge University. Previous holders of the position include Sir Isaac Newton and Charles Babbage.

Ok gang, PREDICTION TIME who will be the next Lucasian Professor of Mathematics? Post your prediction(s) up in the comments, winner will gets a copy of Astronomy Hacks.

So far it’s been…

1664 Isaac Barrow
1669 Sir Isaac Newton
1702 William Whiston
1711 Nicholas Saunderson
1739 John Colson
1760 Edward Waring
1798 Isaac Milner
1820 Robert Woodhouse
1822 Thomas Turton
1826 Sir George Biddell Airy
1828 Charles Babbage
1839 Joshua King
1849 Sir George Stokes
1903 Sir Joseph Larmor
1932 Paul Dirac
1969 Sir James Lighthill
1979 Stephen Hawking

In 2395 it will be Data, but that won’t happen for awhile.