The Countdown to Maker Faire Bay Area is On!


How-To: Vegan Marshmallows

Food & Beverage

Randy Sarafan made these vegan, kosher marshmallows which sound just delicious. I’d like to try using these with Katie Goodman’s chocolate dipped technique.


Homemade Chocolate-Dipped Marshmallows

4 thoughts on “How-To: Vegan Marshmallows

  1. Christina says:

    When I saw this recipe it made me jump from anthousiasm (it looks sooooo good!), but when opening the recipe there was a disappointment…One of the main ingredients is gelatin, which is made from “derived from the collagen inside animals’ skin and bones” (Wikipedia) from cattle, horses or pigs. So this recipe is not suitable for vegans or some (religious) groups that don’t eat porc.
    So, no marshmellows for me tonight…

  2. Becky Stern says:

    The link in the body text (vegan, kosher marshmallows), is indeed a vegan, kosher recipe that uses vegan “gelatin” ( The link under the “More” heading (chocolate dipped marshmallows, published on our site around the holidays), is not vegan nor kosher. Note how I say that I (a non-consumer of gelatin) would like to try this vegan recipe with Katie Goodman’s chocolate dipping technique to approximate a vegan version of her delicious-looking recipe. Does that make sense? No false advertising here, folks! =D

Comments are closed.

Discuss this article with the rest of the community on our Discord server!

Becky Stern is a Content Creator at Autodesk/Instructables, and part time faculty at New York’s School of Visual Arts Products of Design grad program. Making and sharing are her two biggest passions, and she's created hundreds of free online DIY tutorials and videos, mostly about technology and its intersection with crafts. Find her @bekathwia on YouTube/Twitter/Instagram.

View more articles by Becky Stern
Maker Faire Bay Area 2023 30% off early bird ticket sales ends August 31st, 2023!

Escape to an island of imagination + innovation as Maker Faire Bay Area returns for its 15th iteration!

Prices Increase in....